Front Row: Bob Anderson, Tom Abbey, Bill Cunningham, Jim Acker, Courtney Gustafson, Chuck Higgins, Joss Megivern, Keith Wright, Max Beere
Middle Row: Henning Pausch, Jack Larson, Kent Stewart, Mike Mulvihill, Jim Schneller, Bill McKean, Jim Ludwig
Back Row: Cecil Gallup, John Lafferty, Jim Tanner, Tom Larson, Bob Kline, Neil Madison, Wade Clutter, Tom Gorrell, Tom McCord

P.I.A.A. Championships Representatives

Jim Tanner
Roger Wright
Gary Wright
Courtney Gustafson
Bill Cunningham
Kent Stewart

Tom Abbey
Jim Acker
Tom McCord

The 1959 Hubber track squad was dominated by juniors. They were headed by Tom McCord and Jim Acker who were the leading point-getters.

Smethport was well-represented at the State Meet with Jim Acker and Bill Cunningham both taking a place. Jim finished 2nd in the Half-Mile for the second consecutive year, and Bill tied for 2nd in the Pole Vault.

The Hubbers won the District 9 Meet which was held at McCoy Stadium. Smethport finished with 56 ½ points followed by Clarion-Limestone with 47 ½ points. Port Allegany was third. Bill Cunningham set a District record in the Pole Vault with a jump of 11' 2".

At the Olean Relays, John Hummel, Tom McCord, Tom Abbey and Jim Acker combined to win the Sprint Medley with a record-breaking time of 2:56.4. They defeated a strong Williamsport team which had won it the previous two years.


Port Allegany 75 Smethport 43

Smethport 83 Johnsonburg 35

Smethport 100 Ridgway 18

Bradford 85 Smethport 18 Port Allegany 13

Kane 73 Smethport 45

Youngsville 62 Smethport 56

McKean County Meet

Bradford 66 Kane 38 Port Allegany 25 Smethport 21

Please let others know about the site! I would like to make it as comprehensive as possible.

Any comments? Suggestions? Questions? Email me at!